08 Sep 2010 
Support Center » News » Email Spoof with Subject: catholicweb.com account notification
 Email Spoof with Subject: catholicweb.com account notification
Posted By: Ryan Ross On: 10 Jun 2010 1:53 PM
Details News post regarding the emails that have been sent to CatholicWeb.com email users.

Recently, CatholicWeb.com has been subject of an email attack. You may have received an email from what appears to be CatholicWeb.com, but it is not from us. It is a Spoof. The email has the subject line, "catholicweb.com account notification". The email is a Spoof of the admin@catholicweb.com email address, which is not an address we send email from.

THE EMAIL:

Dear Customer,

This e-mail was send by catholicweb.com to notify you that we have temporanly prevented access to your account.

We have reasons to beleive that your account may have been accessed by someone else. Please run attached file and Follow instructions.

(C) catholicweb.com


Attached to the email is an HTML document. It is best to NOT open the attachment, as it could produce unwanted results and damage to your computer.

THE RED FLAGS:

Misspellings and poor grammar, such as "was send", "temporanly", and "beleive".
Generalizations, such as "Dear Customer", "by catholicweb.com", and "run attached file".
No contact information or a way to contact us.


WHAT SHOULD YOU DO?

1) Do not open the attachment
2) Delete the email


OUR POLICY

If we did need to contact you for any reason, we would not send you an attachment. Additionally, we will provide contact information (usually our toll free number), so that you can contact us if you are concerned with anything in the email.



 Back
 Log in [Lost Password] 
E-mail:
Password:
Remember Me:
 
 Search
 News Options
Home | Register | Submit a Ticket | Knowledgebase | Troubleshooter | News | Downloads
Language:

Copyright © 1999-2010. All rights reserved.
Connecting Catholics Worldwide...Online